Achievements during 2014-15

Saranya Sivan of III DC secured 3rd prize in the Malayalam essay competition and Arathi.V.Nair, Alfia Shahana Hakkim.H & Vareenia.M.J of I DC secured 2nd place in the Science quiz conducted by CTCRI on 27th Feb in connection with National Science day celebrations.
Arun Bose & Gokul of III DC presented posters based on National games at CTCRI, in association with National science day celebrations on 27/2/15.
The following 11 students of Final Year participated as delegates in the Science conference organized by Breakthrough Science on 20-22 of February 2015 at Science and Technology Museum PMG junction, Thiruvananthapuram - Saranya Sivan, Amrutha C.L, Amrutha. S, Abhijith, Archana Gopan, Apsara, Amal, Suhana, Gokul, Prakash, Arun Bose.

The following students presented papers in Spectrum 2015

  • Laser and its applications - Sruthy, II B.Sc
  • Advanced Crystal Theory Anju O.R, II B.Sc
  • Laser- a Raman effect as Physicists
  • Tool and its applications Aparna S Devan, II B.Sc
  • Various atmospheric changes due to high temperature above stratosphere Gauri, II B.Sc
Arathi.V.Nair, & Vareenia.M.J won 2nd prize in the Science Quiz conducted by District information Office at University college, Tvm.
Shahana Hakkim H of I DC won 1st prize in Malayalam essay and 2nd prize in English esaay writing State level competition.
Students of the department actively participated in the Arts Fest of college and won many prizes.
Secured 1st prize for Athappookkalam and 2nd prize for Pulkoodu & Carol contest.

Achievements during 2013-14

Achievements of Students
The final year B.Sc. students conducted the Annual Tour to Ooty, Wayanadu and Wonderla from 20/1/2014 to 24/2/2014. Dr. K. Kochunrayanan and Dr. S. Sreeletha accompanied the students.
Students of our Department participated in the College union activities like Athappoo competition, and other activities in connection with Onam celebrations and got second prize for Athappoo competition conducted by College union during September 2013.
Liju M. final year B.Sc. Physics got third prize for Sari wearing competition for boys during Onam fest 2013.
Lekshmi B.S., Neethu R. Krishnan, Chinchu B.V. and Bapy Prakash of Final year B.SC. Physics participated in the Seminar based on Chaos Theory organized by Break through Science at Science and technology museum during October 2013.
A team of our students Praveen P.S.,(Final year), Abhijith Mohan M.S.(second year) and Jagadeesh (first year ) got first prize for Quiz Competition organized by College union in connection with Gandhi Jayanthy celebrations.
Amal J.S. of second year B.Sc. Physics got first prize in district level painting competition conducted by Kerala state Aids control Society on 20/11/2013 and participated in State level painting competition in connection with the same.
Gokul G.S. of second year B.Sc. Physics got first prize in Kerala University boxing competition held during October 2013.
Sooraj V.S. and Praveen PS of final B. Sc. Physics got fourth place for Quiz Competition jointly organized by Science club, ENCON club and Quiz club of Sree Narayana College ,Kollam on 21/2/14 . The competition was sponsored by Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment and was held at S.N. College, Kollam
Akash Sunil and Saranya Sivan of II B.Sc. Physics got first prize for Prem Nazir Memorial Quiz Competition held on 16/01/2014, organized by the college union.
Achievements of Teachers
Dr. Sreeletha S.
Papers published
Sreeletha S. 2014. Study of Momentum Transport by Gravity Waves in the Low Latitude Troposphere using Indian MST Radar. Logos, 1(2) : 42-53.
Other Achievements
Was appointed as an expert by the Public Service Commission for preparing the Syllabus for Physics for the High School Assistant Examination and in connection with this attended the workshop on 11/3/2014 held at PSC office Pattom.
Prof. P.S. Amaladevi
Prof. P.S. Amaladevi has participated in the work shop for the revision of B.Sc. Physics held at Mar Ivanios College, Trivandrum from 27/3/2014 to 28/3/2014. The workshop was organised by the B.O.S for physics (UG), University of Kerala.
Dr. G. Lillybai
Was awarded Ph.D. Degree by University of Kerala for her thesis titled ‘Non-linear Optical Properties of Certain Halides and Tartarates’ during October 2013.
International paper publication
I Rajeena, Roseleena Toms, VPN Nampoori, P.Radhakrishnan and B.Lillybai, Non-Linear Optical Studies on Sol-Gel Derived Lead Chloride Crystals Using Z-Scan Technique, Journal of Engineering Computers & Applied Sciences(JECAS) ISSN No: 2319-5606 Volume 3, No.4, April 2014
Dr. K. Kochunarayanan
Member of Board of Studies in Optoelectronics (Faculty of Applied Sciences), University of Kerala.
Dr. D. Beena
Member of Board of Studies in Electronics under the faculty of Applied Science and Technology , Kerala University.