Department of History

The department was established in 1968 with the commencement of under-graduate course. The PG course has been running since 1982 in the department. Since its formation the department is playing a vital role in the curricular and co-curricular activities of the college. There are seven faculty members out of which six are Ph D degree holders and five are possessing M Phil degree. One member has Post Doctoral Fellowship and three have qualified the U.G.C NET exam. Two members are recognized research Guides of the University of Kerala. The Department is a recognized research centre of the University of Kerala, and has always been in the forefront, of conducting regional, national and International seminars. The Department publishes an annual research journal Historia with ISSN number, and has established links with Indian Council for Historical Research, New Delhi and Kerala Council for Historical Research, Thiruvananthapuram.