Department of Geology

The Department of Geology, the first of its kind under the SN management was established in 1979. Department offers a 3 year graduate course in Geology under the guidance of three faculty members. Among them two are holding Ph.D (Geochemistry and Sedimentalogy). One Faculty has two PDF in Sedimentology. The department can boast of an array of illustrious and meritorious alumni consisting of eminent scientists and academicians serving in different parts of the globe. It has under its hat several ranks in University examinations right from its inception. For encouraging and promoting scientific research the department has established collaboration (MoU) with the Central Ground Water Board, Kerala Circle. Also for giving students insight into present day Geotechnical Industry and its requirement, it has established collaboration (MoU) with GEONYMS India PVT LTD, Thiruvananthapuram, a Geotechnical Consulting firm. Make in India strategy of Government has increased the requirement of resources, and this requirement of resources has fueled demand for Professional Geologist. Hence the degree course in Geology has now turned out to be the most sought after one.

Dynamic undergraduates who enjoy working outdoors and have a good aptitude in mathematics, physics, computer science or chemistry, can find a rewarding career in Geology and allied sciences. Students of our department have the opportunity to learn and work with faculty who are research oriented and also well acquainted with present day industry requirements.

Download: Brochure