Department of Botany

The department was established in 1968 with the three year degree course in Botany. The teaching faculty comprises of four members out of which three are Doctorate degree holders. Dr. Devipriya V is an approved Research guide of the University of Kerala. She is also the Executive Council member of both the Indian Association for Angiosperm Taxonomy and The Society of Cytologists and Geneticists, India. She has also completed a Major Research Project funded by the UGC. The department has the credit of producing a rank holder in the University examination. Miss Jaseera JS bagged first rank in B.Sc. Botany during the academic year 2005-06. The department successfully organised a two-day International Seminar on "World bio-heritage concerns over climate change, with a special reference to ethnic vegetables" in September 2012.